Erlan Batyrbekov, Director General of NNC RK Joined Scientific Advisory Group to the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapon (TPNW)

02 March 2023


The first constitutive meeting of the Scientific Advisory Group was held on 1 March 2023. The primary aim of the Group is to provide scientific and technical advice for the effective implementation of the Treaty. The Group includes such countries as Austria, Bangladesh, Ireland, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, West and South Africa.

The agenda of the constitutive meeting included discussion of the Group members’ functions and tasks, review of proposals on efficient functioning of the Group and work plan for the current year.

The Group efforts will finally result in report submission by the second Meeting of States Parties and Review Conference on the status and developments regarding nuclear weapon, nuclear weapon risks, the humanitarian consequences of nuclear weapons, nuclear disarmament as well as identification and engagement of scientific and technical institutions in States Parties with the purpose to establish a network of experts to support the goals of the Treaty.




международное сотрудничество совещание ДВЗЯИ ядерное разоружение Эрлан Батырбеков РГП НЯЦ РК режим нераспространения научно-консультативная группа